my little thumb sucker…

We interrupt the previously scheduled 30 Day Blog Journal to bring you an important update – My baby is doing great!!

We went in for our “sequential screening” today (to check for down syndrome, trisomy 18 and spina bifida). I was so nervous going in. I just wanted to see that little heart pumping away. We had quite a long wait and both Justin and I were going batty just sitting around waiting! We finally got called back to the u/s room. She squirted the jelly on my tummy – and then there Blueberry was. At first I didn’t see the heartbeat and I got nervous, then the little one did a quick jump! It was so amazing, not only knowing all was still well, but that the little one was moving around! So awesome – my husband and I both broke into tears and the tech gave him a big wad of Kleenex first 🙂 After that, I was just so happy Blueberry was still there that I was able to relax and enjoy the rest of the show.

Little one was SO active! Justin swore it was waving to him at one point (the screen was turned away from me then for the tech to take the measurements, so I can’t confirm that – but I’m sure Blueberry was saying “HI DAD”). The tech said we wouldn’t get the results of all the screening until after the blood tests, but for now, everything looked great on the u/s.

We also got to hear the little heartbeat, plugging away at 150 bpm – thumpa thumpa thumpa! Amazing, amazing sound…nothing like it in the world! Blueberry is measuring somewhere between 12w3d (smallest measurement she took) to up to 13w1d (largest measurement she took). I’m at 12w3d today, so those all sound great to me!

We also got LOTS of pictures! I won’t post them all, but here is my favorite:

My little thumb sucker.  So cute, right?  I couldn’t be happier right now.  Please,  remind me of this moment when I start freaking out in a few weeks again.  For now, I promised myself after this u/s, if all was well, I would try to be more calm.  I’m going to finally open up the copy of “What to Expect” that I ordered, and I’m going to start up my journal again.  With my 2 other babies I journaled to them almost every night.  I was too afraid to do that this time, but I’m ready now.

Next u/s in 8 weeks!!!  I don’t know how I’m going to wait that long (October 1st).  Maybe my ob/gyn will want to do an ultrasound herself at some point.  The hubby and I had a discussion about renting a doppler but both decided it would cause more anxiety than reassurance for both of us.

I have a pre-natal appointment with Dr. D on the 9th.  I’m glad it’s so soon after, but hopefully that doesn’t mean I”m going to have to wait a long time until my next one!

We’re thinking soon of letting more people know about the pregnancy.  It makes me nervous, but I know at some point I have to get over that and celebrate with my friends and family, and that’s what I really want to do right now – celebrate!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 13:09:34

    So glad the little one is doing well. I love the photo!

    Reply

  2. Linsey
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 19:33:46

    Adorable! Congratulations!

    Reply

  3. Devon
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 01:17:20

    SO HAPPY for you!

    Reply

  4. Rosalind Taylor
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 15:38:41

    My heart goes out to you and your husband. I lost my second child at 2 months so I understand some of what you are going through. I currently have 3 kids: 20 yrs, 17 yrs, 16 yrs. It took me a long time to get pregnant with MY Justin (he’s the 17 year old, 18 in a little over a month) due to the damage caused by my cornual ectopic pregnancy. He had to be born premature on purpose because of my prior surgery. He was little and bald and scrawny and for a while was failing to thrive-so skinny he was off the charts on the skinny end! Now, he is about to start college after having played high school football for 3 years, it would have been 4 but he was in marching band as a freshman.
    The point I am trying, quite poorly, to make is don’t give up hope. And when things don’t look so good, still don’t give up hope. I’m rooting for you 😉
    Rosalind Taylor
    Gilroy, CA

    Reply

  5. wtbocianski
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 18:33:48

    OMG I don’t know how I missed your post about your BFP!!!

    That is so exciting! Congratulations!

    I totally know how you feel right now. It gets better but it wont go away completely. At least it still hasn’t for me. Until I’m actually holding my little one in my arms I’m sure I won’t be able to breath easily.

    I’m so glad all is going great. What I can suggest to you (which I did) is to set little milestones for you.

    My first milestone was 9wks, then 13wks, then 18wks, then 25wks, then 28wks, 32wks and the last was 36wks.
    I know this might sound silly but it helped me a lot.

    I’ll keep checking on u and see how ur little blueberry is doing.

    Again, congrats!!! So excited for you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

