finding a new doctor…

So you may recall, I broke up with my old ob/gyn (see the full story here) due to many issues (some of which are also explained here).  Shortly after I decided I was done with Dr. Tam, I google searched for gynecologists in Chicago.  I know, I know…dangerous thing to do!  Who knows what you could end up with!  Since moving here, I’ve always gone to see doctors either by referral from another doc, or by advice from a friend.  My regular doctor had referred me to Dr. Tam, so I couldn’t ask him for another referral (he seemed to really like her and think she would be good), and I of course couldn’t ask Dr. Tam – that would be rude: “Hey, ya know, you kinda suck as an ob/gyn…could you maybe give me a name of someone way better than you?”  Yeah, I’m not that kind of person (I hope)…so I googled.  I found someone online, who took my insurance and had nothing by 5 star reviews from current patients.  So, I took a leap of faith and called to set up a consultation appointment.  I figured there would be no harm going in to talk with her and see what she had to offer!

So, I was looking for someone I could feel comfortable with, someone who seemed to either understand my particular fertility problems or at least be willing to work with me and learn.  Boy howdy, did I find her!

My first clue that this was going to be the right place was the paperwork I had to fill out before getting there.  In the section to fill out about past pregnancies, not was there a place to mark if the pregnancy had ended successfully, but had a column to fill out about miscarriages and a spot to put how far along in the pregnancy you reached!  Seriously, this place understood pregnancy does not = healthy baby all the time.  Other forms I’ve filled out in the past just asked for pregnancy and how old the child is now.

I got into the office and the nurse brought me back for a few medical history questions and to check my blood pressure.  Then the doctor came in.  She was so nice!  I was immediately at ease!  She went over more history with me, spent time with me trying to get the time line of my pregnancies, losses and diagnosis figured out so she understood the steps I’ve already taken.  She has a relationship with Dr. Freaking-Awesome (my MFM doc) already and was happy to let me continue to see him if/when I get pregnant again.  She then talked with me about possible next steps – she really understood my diagnosis and current treatments!  I couldn’t believe it, I doctor that actually understood me and was willing to help me!!  It was a miracle.  Right away there were some tests she wanted to run (that should have been done when I had first mentioned to my old gyno that I was thinking of trying to get pregnant).  I’m going in today for some blood work.  First off, she’s checking my Progesterone levels to see if I did in fact ovulate this month (I should be 7dpo if I did).  She wants to see if I’m Oing on my own.  She mentioned clomid, that it might be a good thing to introduce to my current regimen.  I don’t know why but I’ve ALWAYS been hesitant about taking it.  All of my docs (old gyno, RE, MFM) have mentioned it to me and I’ve always said no.  But having stepped back now, I think it may be time – if it helps I’m willing to go there now.  New ob/gyn seems to think that it may just be that extra push that I need.  Okay, I’m ready for it then!

I’m also being tested for cystic fibrosis carrier and to see if I’m still immune to chicken pox and rubella.  I guess this should have been tested for when I first wanted to get pregnant.  If I’m a carrier for cystic fibrosis, DH will need to be tested too.  If both parents are carriers then the baby would get it.  I really hope that I’m not!

Step 2 of the new plan is to go in a few days after my next cycle begins (hopefully it won’t!) and get an endometrial biopsy.  I’ve never had this before.  She says that I have certain risk factors (PCOS, MTHFR, over weight, etc…) that could lead to Endometrial cancer, and she just wants to check and make sure all is well.  It should be no worse than getting the saline sonogram that I had with my RE, so I’m not too nervous about it.  She said I may get a bit crampier than the other test, so I’ll just take some ibuprofen or Tylenol before the procedure to help with that.

Can you believe this – all from a consultation appointment to see if I’d like to stay with this doctor!  I can tell you, about 1 min into my conversation with her I’d already decided!!  She even said if I get a positive pregnancy test to call Dr. Freakin-Awesome first to confirm viability and then to call her – she takes this high risk stuff seriously!!  I know she’ll be able to deal with crazy pregnant me if/when I get to that point!  I’m so happy with how this all worked out!!!

Okay, so now for the naming ceremony.  I need to give her a clever nickname – oh, and by the way, if you live in the Chicago area and want to check out my new doctor, send me an email at somedaybabyt at gmail dot com and I’ll give you her contact info.  Hmm…how about, Dr. Understanding?  Dr. Delightful?  Dr. Proactive?  Any good suggestions?  I’ll take them!!  Maybe we’ll even do a poll if I get a bunch of good ideas!  Leave your name suggestions in the comments!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. APlusB
    May 28, 2010 @ 16:54:45

    Well, speaking from personal experience, I’d call her Dr. Lovely. Because she is. Sweet, kind, and understanding. I only spent about 5 minutes with her, but definitely got a great vibe. I was so happy to read how much you liked her, too!

    Reply

  2. 21reena
    May 31, 2010 @ 13:06:27

    I AM SO SO SO HAPPY FOR YOU! What a relief to find that doctor! umm…how about Dr. What a Relief? lol!

    Reply

  3. liberalgranolagirl
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 16:31:14

    So happy that you’ve found a dr that you love!! I vote for Dr. Delightful 🙂

    Reply

  4. 21reena
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 18:15:16

    Hi! Just checking in on you!

    Reply

  5. Busted Kate
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 17:39:26

    Girl, where you been??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

