more info on my mthfr…

Okay, got the test results in “writing” back from the doctor.  Here’s what it says:

“This individual [yours truley] is homozygous [I have 2 copies of the mutation] for the C677t mutation and neagative (normal) for the A1298C mutation in the MTHFR gene.”

So the fix is to add 81 mg of Baby Aspirin (the chewable kind, yay) and 1 mg of Folic Acid to my already growing drug regimen.   Like I said in the last post though, anything to get my baby!!

I’m also being sent in for one more blood test, Homocysteine Level.  Basically to see if I have B12 or folate deficiency.

I’m happy with this result, because it seems fixable, but 2 things kind of scare me about it:

1) Apparently the MTHFR gene mutation can tie in to vascular disease.  I’m now in 3 high risk groups for a heart problem (women, obese and MTHFR gene mutation).  Great.

2) I’m absolutely TERRIFIED of blood clots.  Seriously, I’m constantly worried when I’m in a car for too long I’m gonna get a clot.  My grandpa and aunt both in the past year have had blood clot issues and it scarred the tar out of me.

Anyway, that’s what’s going on in my life.  One fun thing with my blood work, a copy of all my genes was in the envelope!  Now I have pictures of my DNA…it’s pretty interesting!

Oh, forgot to add this…an interesting article I found on MTHFR and Miscarriage.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 21reena
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 23:56:38

    wow- you have all your genes to look at? that’s awesome. hope the next blood test clears up more mystery and brings your even closer to your dream!

    Reply

  2. Sarah H
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 16:15:17

    This all sounds like good news!!! One step closer!! Praying for you!

    Reply

  3. Miriam
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 02:32:30

    Hi there,
    Came here via the Blog Hop. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss earlier this year. Also: blood clots = totally scary. But it sounds like you’ve got a good doctor to work with you. Best of luck in your journey!
    ~Miriam

    Reply

Leave a Reply

