the blood tests…

So today’s the day.  I’m going to the blood draw office today after work.  From all that he’s marked, it looks like they’ll be taking about 1/2 of the blood out of my body.  So, I should be fine to drive home after that…um, right.  This morning I bought a bagel and orange juice to have afterwords, just in case.

I’ve made a copy of the test order so I can have a record of what they checked.  Also the MFM said he’d give me a copy of all of the results.  I really love this guy, wish he could be my full time doc!  I’m actually going to try to get all of my gynecologist records faxed to me so I have stuff to show the new person (when I find a new person…).

I’m going to use this post more for information for myself…I’m going to list the tests and using Dr. Google and WebMd, try to figure out what it all is and what it’ll mean if the tests come back positive for anything (the link on the test will give the website where I go the info, as well as provide further information).  So here’s we go!

  • TSHThe TSH test is often the test of choice for evaluating thyroid function and/or symptoms of hyper- or hypothyroidism.
  • T-4 (Thyroxine), freeThis helps the doctor to determine whether the thyroid hormone feedback system is functioning as it should, and the results of the tests help to distinguish between different causes of hyper- and hypothyroidism.
  • ANA w/ reflThe ANA test is ordered to help screen for autoimmune disorders and is most often used as one of the tests to diagnose systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE).
  • Cardiolipin scr/rflxTests for IgG and IgM cardiolipin antibodies are frequently ordered to help determine the cause of an unexplained thrombotic episode, recurrent miscarriage, or thrombocytopenia.
  • Chromosome Study
  • Factor V (leiden)Factor V Leiden mutation and prothrombin 20210 mutation tests are ordered, along with other tests related to thrombophilia, to help diagnose the cause for venous thromboembolism (VTE).  They may be ordered when a patient has a personal or family history of recurrent VTE, a first VTE related to oral contraceptive use, pregnancy or hormone replacement therapy, or when they are experiencing unexplained miscarriages.
  • Glucose, fastingThe blood glucose test is ordered to measure the amount of glucose in the blood right at the time of sample collection. It is used to detect both hyperglycemia and hypoglycemia, to help diagnose diabetes.
  • Lupus AnticoagulantLupus anticoagulant testing is used to help determine the cause of an unexplained thrombosis, recurrent fetal loss, or a prolonged PTT test. It is ordered to help determine whether a prolonged PTT is due to a specific inhibitor (an antibody against a specific coagulation factor) or to a nonspecific inhibitor like the lupus anticoagulant.
  • MTHFR, DNA mutation It is involved in the pathogenesis of neural tube defects, stillbirths, and recurrent pregnancy loss. The leading cause of hyperhomocysteinemia is folate deficiency.
  • Protein S antigen
  • Sjogren’s antibodySjögren’s syndrome is an autoimmune disorder in which the body’s immune system mistakenly reacts to the tissue in glands that produce moisture such as tear and salivary glands.
  • Thyroid peroxidThyroid antibody testing is primarily ordered to help diagnose an autoimmune thyroid disease and to separate it from other forms of thyroiditis.
  • Prothrombin Gene
  • Profs – not sure what this is, maybe I’m not reading his handwriting correctly…

DAMN IT DAMN IT DAMN IT!!!  As I was typing out the list I saw “Glucose, fasting”.  Damn it!!  Just remembered I wasn’t supposed to eat today.  DAMN IT!!!  Guess I’ll pushing these tests until tomorrow.  So angry with myself right now!  Grrr, Argh!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. K
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 18:12:22

    Aw, why didn’t they tell you about the fasting thing??

    Thinking of you, please keep us posted!

    Reply

  2. Corinna
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 21:33:13

    Well, I hope you have none of these issues, but I know how nice it would be to have an explanation for everything, too. I had a similar blood panel done by MFM doctors after I had pre-eclampsia with my daughter’s birth. They included many of these (looks like they’re being pretty thorough for you!), as well as Protein C and antithrombin 3. (They were particularly concerned about clotting.) I ended up being heterozygous for the prothrombin gene mutation. Good luck with all of this!

    Reply

  3. 21reena
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 23:35:06

    wow- they seriously are gonna drain you! sorry you forgot about the fasting (i hated that one..i got a manicure to help kill the time, that way my hands would be occupied and not tempted to put something into my mouth). good luck with all of these!

    Reply

  4. Sarah H
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 01:17:16

    Hope it went well!!! Thinking about you today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

