and i’m back…

Hey guys.  I’m here, I’m alive, and I’m ready to blog!  Sorry it’s been so long.  As I said in my previous update, I had a lot of  stuff all at once kind of happen.  Then this week has been St. Patty’s Day celebrations (4 concerts since Saturday, my friends have an Irish band…), so I’ve been tired from that.  I’m still exhausted today, but I wanted to get this update up, as I’ll have a big one for tomorrow.

I have some freakin’ amazing friends.  Truly I have been blessed in the great friend department.  I worked at a summer camp for many years and met some great people through that.  Sadly, they mostly live in Minnesota, and I’m in Illinois, so I don’t get to see them as often as I’d like.  I was talking with my friend Dave on facebook chat one day and we decided I needed to come up for a poker night.  Thus the epicness that was that night was born!  So I went up the first weekend of march for drinking, poker, guitar playing, candy cigarette “smoking” and just seeing some great friends again.

don't worry...I got more chips later in the night

I had the best night.  I really miss hanging out with my guys and just being goofy and having fun!  Did I mention that I won the first hand?  Oh yeah, I won the first hand (more about that later…)!

Dave aka “Candy Cigs” and Adam, our supplier

Adam brought a bunch of boxes of candy cigarettes.  Do you remember those?  I use to think they were so cool when I was little!  I think we all developed a bit of a candy cigarette addiction that night…

Jakey, Dan & Dave.

As usually happens when we all get together, the guitars were broken out and bad singing and songs commenced!  I was especially fond of our rendition of “I Wanna Be (5000 miles)” by the Proclaimers, what the hell does haver mean anyway?

I love this guy.  He’s the one that organized the night, made all the phone calls and made sure everyone made it.  The only person not there was Timmy who had a last minute work thing he couldn’t get out of.  So, I mentioned I won the first hand, right (if not, did you hear I won the first hand??)…well, as I’m collecting Dave turns to me and says “Well, you just ruined all our plans.  We were going to give you the money anyway.”  They had conspired before hand and got others to donate as well, to help Justin and I out on our way to be parents.  I about started crying on the spot.  He has been so supportive and awesome through our whole journey and then he goes and does this.  Love ya man.  So instead of a money prize the winner got to pick out some original art done by Timmy.  So I’ll get one of those at some point, too.

Brit (the host) and Bennie, sharing a Candy Cig

I can’t tell you how much I needed that evening with the guys.  After all the beer, shots, guitar, poker, talking and other antics were over we all spread out over Brit’s basement and passed out.  Just to have a night with the old gang again, and also the generosity and support they showed me…it reloaded my hope and energy to continue on this journey, on to the next step, what ever that may be.  Thanks guys.  Wanna do it again sometime??

Leave a Reply

