WHAT THE *F* UTAH!!!

You may have noticed that I usually use all lower case letters in my titles for blog posts, but I think this post deserved all caps (credit to TTCargh for posting this link on Twitter)…

Apparently Utah is trying to pass a law that could charge women with homicide if they miscarry.  HOMICIDE!!!!!  Are you kidding me?????  Please click the link to read the article yourself.  I can’t even tell you how LIVID this article makes me.  Sure, it seems they are trying to aim the law at women who intentionally cause a miscarriage, but I think it is a slippery slope.  Given that line of reasoning, it could be extrapolated that women with known fertility issues could be charged.  I mean we do have a higher risk of miscarriage, so I guess if you really wanted to take it as far as possible, if I were living in Utah and this law were passes, I could be charged with 2 counts of homicide.

Given that there is sadly such a high percentage of pregnancy loss, especially in the first trimester, I think they are going to have a lot of cases on there hands.  All this law will do is tie up the prosecutors with needless cases, instead of dealing with ones that are really important!  If they want to truly enforce it, they’d have to investigate every miscarriage to see if there was any “wrong doing” on the part of the mother.

ARGHH  I’m seriously fuming over this, I can’t even get the words out to express the rage.

A quote from the article from (someone named) Dan Savage: “If every miscarriage is a potential homicide, how does Utah avoid launching a criminal investigation every time a woman has a miscarriage? […] And how is Utah supposed to know when a pregnant woman has had a miscarriage? You’re going to have to create some sort of pregnancy registry to keep track of all those fetuses, Utah. Perhaps you could start issuing “conception certificates” to women who get pregnant? And then, if there isn’t a baby within nine months of the issuance of a conception certificate, the woman could be hauled in for questioning and she could be indicted for criminal homicide if it’s determined that she intentionally or accidentally induced a miscarriage.”

Yup…exactly.  It’s going to take up time, money, and be completely pointless.  Of all the states that could have made this law, I’m not surprised it’s Utah.  I usually have nothing bad to say about the Mormon church in general.  I’ve known many Mormons and I’ve found them to be nothing but kind individuals.  I may not agree with their theology, but it doesn’t stop me from recognizing them as decent people who have just as much right as anyone else to worship and believe as they want.  Of course, in EVERY religion (there are no exclusions that I’ve found in my life/studies), there are those who take it too far.  I think this is one of those instances.  The state of Utah has many Mormon citizens, and it appears that those in the extremes are trying to punish women for something they may or may not have control over.

I also normally don’t comment on the abortion issue.  I don’t know exactly what to call myself.  I believe any sort of death is needless and wrong, but on the other hand, I know there are times when it is needed.  Technically, the d&c I had is a form of abortions.  Yes, my child was already gone, but the procedure is the same.  There are cases where the mother’s life is in danger, or in the case of multiples, one or more of the babies is at risk.  There are many other times or situations that I’m not going to get into.  Ultimately, I do believe it is up to the parents, but I don’t get into it, because it’s not a decision that effects me.  I’m sorry if I’m getting into a touchy subject and making people uncomfortable, it’s why I don’t normally talk about it – but I think it plays into this article.  It seems that Utah is trying to punish women who, because of family, religion, etc do not have the option to go for an abortion, try to handle things on there own in a relatively safe manor (as apposed to clothes hangers, back alley abortions, etc).  While I don’t get into abortion as a government issue, in this case trying to pass laws to punish women for something they may not have had control over (losing a baby in a car accident for instance) is utterly and completely wrong.

Oi!!  Okay, I’ve gotten some of that out of my system.  I may not have said it clearly or expressed it correctly, but I got it out.  Again, I apologize for perhaps getting too political (I hate doing that), but like I said, in this case I think it was called for.  Please don’t come after me for that!  Hopefully you can see the anger and that it is placed in the right place.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. celticwander
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 23:06:41

    There is not just the IF issue you mention, but another one that I find just as heinous is the fact they may prosecute a woman who goes back to an abusive relationship. Sadly, part of the cycle of abuse is returning to the abuser, and if a pregnant woman returns to the abuser and is abused again and miscarries, she, according to this law, is performing an intentionally reckless act. They are making it her fault. Blaming the victim…again

    Reply

  2. Sarah H
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 02:01:41

    I haven’t read the article but get the gist from what you wrote. I agree that it is about the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard!! I can’t imagine something like that actually getting passed and sticking around very long. Hopefully the people behind will realize that miscarriages just happen sometimes and there isn’t anything you can do about it.

    Reply

  3. katery
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 16:19:49

    it’s just more pro-life propaganda.

    Reply

  4. katery
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 16:33:06

    and i agree with you, abortion is a personal choice. i have always been pro-choice and having been through infertility and now a pregnancy i don’t think that i could have an abortion myself, but i do think that other people have the right to make that choice for themselves and not be judged for it.

    Reply

  5. K
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 05:00:56

    This is definitely a law to get at the pro-life agenda and to me that is sneaky and horrible as is, but the fact that it takes miscarrying grieving mothers under its umbrella to prosecute horrifies me. Michele of “My life after loss” posted an article where a woman in the state was arrested for a miscarriage that resulted from falling down the stairs! Workers said she had mentioned that she wasn’t ready for the baby and so tey thought she fell on purpose to lose the baby. Seriously seriously outlandish.

    I am pro allowing women to make their own decision on whether or not to keep a pregnancy. I dont think any woman who makes a decision to end her pregnancy enters it lightly (for the most part) and I think its something that haunts them. I am thankful I have not had to make such a difficult decision but I cannot judge someone who has done so because I have not been in those shoes. I do consider my little ones that I lost as my babies though, and I love them so much…. but that is my perception of them, and I can’t impart that view on someone else. It’s a very very touchy subject though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

