we are so done…

So, remember a few posts back when I talked about my awful miscarriage followup appointment with my ob/gyn?  You know, where they didn’t look at the chart and see I had miscarried and started treating me like a pre-natal patient?  Well, it turns out there was a reason for that…

I looked at my phone this morning and saw I had missed a call earlier today from my ob/gyn office.  I figured they were calling to yell at me for not getting my blood work done yet (we did try to go Friday, but it was closed…).  I listened to the message and it said, “This is Dr. T’s office.  I noticed that we don’t have your next appointment down on the books.  I don’t know if we just forgot to put it in or if you haven’t scheduled one yet.  Please call me back.”  Immediately, my blood began to boil.  I just knew – I KNEW – that they still thought I was pregnant.

I called back and actually got the receptionist (usually I have to leave a message, then call back later when they don’t return my call).  It was even the woman who had left the message for me.  Conversation was something like this:

Her: Hi!  I’m the one that called you!

Me: Yeah, why did you call me?

Her: We seem to have either forgotten to write your next appointment down or we didn’t schedule one.

Me: I don’t understand.  Why do I need an appointment?

Her: Aren’t you pregnant?

Me: *cleansing breath so I don’t go ALL out on her* No I miscarried.

Her: Oh, um…

Me: This is the SECOND time this has happened and it’s getting very frustrating!

Her: I’m sorry, no one seems to have written that in the computer or on your chart.  I’ll be sure to do that.

Me: Thanks *hangs up phone*

I can’t BELIEVE they didn’t write it down!!!  At least I know what happened with my last appointment, the nurse couldn’t have looked at my chart to know what I was there for – BECAUSE THE DAMN DOCTOR NEVER WROTE IT DOWN!!!!!  I’m so over you Dr. Tam.  We are done – through, over, Elvis has left the building and he ain’t comin’ back!

I try not to name my doctors on this blog, but seriously, if you’re in the Chicago area, DON’T go see Dr. Teresa Tam!!  I’ve had nothing by awkward or bad experiences there.  I was never comfortable with her.  I’m in the market people, lookin’ for a new doctor.  Who can treat me the way I deserve to be treated.  Someone who can be sensitive to my needs, to my wants and desires…

Wait, that’s starting to sound like a personal add!  I guess that’s what I need to write though!

WANTED: A doctor who knows about PCOS and it’s complications.  A doctor who will treat me like a person, not a number.  A doctor who will read my chart BEFORE entering the room, and also to WRITE DOWN important information IN my chart.  Someone I don’t have to explain my entire history to every time I go in, because they’ve read my chart and know it!

Okay, my venting is out.  Seriously though, if you ARE in the Chicago area and have a good recommendation for me, let me know!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs. Cline
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 16:34:28

    What part of Chicago are you in? I’m in NW Indiana. If you’re willing to drive or if it’s even a possibility, let me know and I’ll give you his name.

    nataliejcline at yahoo dot com

    Reply

  2. celticwander
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 18:19:49

    oh my god. i am fuming right now…what the piss! i am sorry love….

    Reply

  3. lillyshephard
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 18:27:41

    unbelievable. so glad you are moving on.

    Reply

  4. Corinna
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 18:55:40

    I’m so sorry you’ve had such bad luck with this doctor. Time to move on. There are awesome doctors, and there are awful doctors. Keep looking. If the next one is a dud, find another. Don’t hesitate to ask your general physician, nurses, anyone in the medical field, for recommendations, too. They know who’s a moron, and who’s brilliant! I’ve had great luck with the OBs that my doctor recommended. You might have luck with a “top docs chicago” google search. We have that every two years where I live, and we picked our daughter’s pediatrician from that and have not had any regrets.

    Reply

  5. 21reena
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 00:05:31

    oh i wish i had a name for you, sorry. i’m happy you’re making the switch…time to move on to competence!!!!

    Reply

  6. K
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 02:14:48

    how awful 😦 I’m so glad to hear that you are going to leave that practice. They don’t deserve your business whatsoever. That is absolutely unreal. Like this is the first time this has happened??? Like I said my OB office did this ocne but they were so mortified it never happened again and they were truly apologetic and even called later to see if I was okay. To this day everyone there is gentle with me and understanding of what I’ve gone through WITHOUT even consulting a chart. You deserve no less!

    Reply

  7. susq
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 20:07:37

    Ugh…arg…stupid stupid stupid. Again…this is what’s wrong with our medical system!! I hope you can find someone good. I can’t remember if your insurance allows it or not, but I think that in general finding someone who is independant and not part of a group can sometimes help with that. It’s amazing the difference between my former doctor and the “group” of doctors I have now. Hopefully someone can give you a good name!!

    Reply

  8. Simple
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 00:51:57

    Hi – so sorry about your experience .. nothing is ever f’in easy! I’m not in Chicago, but another blogger I follow & chat with is… maybe she can give you a referral. Good luck!!!

    http://www.playgroupmaterial.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  9. Busted Kate
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 17:51:42

    OMG I am pissed off on your behalf. WTF?? WTF?????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

