keep on keepin’ on…

Welcome to my new blog layout! Do you like it? I needed to change it up a bit. Like my DH said, the old design worked well for what it was for when I created the blog, but I needed something fresh. Hopefully it’s easier to read!

Nothing much to report in the TTC department. I’ll be going in Friday for the blood work my ob/gyn wanted me to do. I was supposed to do it last week, but I just couldn’t make myself go in and do it then. I needed a break from it, and that’s what last week was for me.

On Friday night we had dinner with some of Justin’s seminary friends and then watched the Opening Ceremonies. It was a much needed night of relaxation.

Saturday morning we woke up and drove out to “the land of Chicago-land” – the suburbs! My best friend Susie and her family live out there and we went for a visit. There daughter, Jannah is our goddaughter. Here’s a great shot of her (she was running around the house with a color book page in her mouth):

Susie and I took the day and went shopping and had some girl time.  She is 21w5d along with her 3 pregnancy.  We were able to talk through what we have each been going through.  She had a miscarriage last year and has been trying to deal with the loss and the fear of now being pregnant after a loss.  Soup, Salad & Breadsticks at Olive Garden helped us to discuss our hopes and fears.  It was a great conversation and helped me get some stuff out that I’d been holding in.  If you get a chance, head over to her blog and wish her luck, as today she finds out if their little on is a boy or a girl!  Either way, that kid is going to be the best dressed baby around after all of the patterns I bought on Monday!!

Anyway, after shopping, we headed back to her place where the boys (her hubby & mine) had been taking care of the almost 3 year old all day!  Sounds like they had a good time, and even went to a dog sled race!  We had dinner, played a game of Settlers of Catan (my favorite) and then we had to leave.

That night we went to see our friends’ band, One of the Girls play at the Irish-American Heritage Center in Chicago.  The band is what they call “blueirishfolkgrass” and is always a good time.  It helps when you know the band!  Justin had to head home early (due to work the next day) but I stayed for the whole gig and then slept over at my friend Abbey’s house.

Kind of a fuzzy picture of the band: Roger, Tom, Tripp & Sean.  Mike D not shown.  Why?  Because…

…he was playing accordion on the bar.  Good times.

DH and I having an argument (not really, we were just kidding around).

Me, Sappers, Abbey & Evy enjoying the show.

It was a great night, and like I said, much needed.  It was nice to get out of the house and do something fun with friends!  It helped also that I had 4 Smithwick’s and a shot!  But really, just being able to have a fun day with the people I love did wonders for my mental state.

So the next steps: beta test on Friday.  Big blood work at the beginning of April.  Until then, I’m supposed to see a nutritionist (recommended by the MFM doc).  I’ll also be starting back up at Curves next week.  I’m hoping by April I can drop at least 10-20 lbs.  That’s my goal.  I may be doing some sharing on that here later, but for now that’s all I have to report.  Hope you are all doing well!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. susq
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 21:08:48

    Nice…I guess that’s not the worst thing she’s carried around in her mouth 🙂 It was a great visit and we’re looking forward to the girls’ night/sleepover-Jannah’s pumped!

    Reply

  2. 21reena
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 18:23:55

    love your new layout!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

