8w3d and paranoia…

Hey guys…I need some reassurance!  I’m 8w3d – right about where I lost Declan (sometime at 8wks).  So of course, I’m starting to freak out a bit.  Add on top of that some weird pain that started last night, and you can tell that I’m at red alert!

Just after I got home from work last night I started to have some strange pain in the sides of my abdomen.  Just on the sides.  It’s kind of like I’ve done too many crunches (which definitely isn’t the case!).  It was pretty bad last night so of course I was very nervous.  I haven’t had any spotting or cramping though, so that’s making me a bit calmer.  I think the reason it was so bad last night is because (warning: TMI coming) I’m also a bit, um…backed up.  I have a lot of gas that wants to come out but won’t – so that adds a lot of pressure to that area!

I’m feeling better this morning, but I’m still having small twinges of that stretchy, too many crunches pain every once in a while.  I think I have myself convinced (with the help of Waiting for Sunflower, SusQ and Dr. Google) that this is just normal stretching that happens during pregnancy and that I have nothing to worry about – almost convinced.  I haven’t called my doctor, but I’ve decided I will if it gets any worse.  I don’t know if she’d be able to squeeze in a quick u/s appointment, but I can try if I’m that nervous.  I’ve also been downing the water hard core (starting my third 24 oz bottle now).  It helps that I still have my symptoms…sore boobs, exhaustion and heartburn.

Any advice y’all can give would be great.  Or even just calming thoughts to stop my paranoia.  It’s nice to have people to turn to and an outlet to get my fear off my chest!  Thank you all so much for that.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linsey
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 20:57:54

    I’m sure you have nothing to worry about, I was achy and twingy a lot too. But I would say don’t hesitate to call your dr and get the u/s. It will make you feel better to see your little darling’s heartbeat. I always felt silly calling about the little twinges until my dr told me that it was always ok to call and that that is what they are there for. Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 21:17:43

    I am only 4 weeks and have been having that in my right side. I have really freaked myself out too and called my doctor today. She told me that it’s really good that I haven’t been spotting or cramping but I am still going in to have an ultrasound. They said they won’t be able to see or hear the baby but they just want to make sure that everything is implanted right. They told me that it’s pretty common for pregnant women to get small cysts and that’s what it kinda feels like for me. I’m sure everything is alright with you, but I would call your doctor just to be reassured 🙂 Good Luck!

    Reply

  3. 21reena
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 22:44:41

    I’ve never been PG, so I don’t know about the pains…but I do know about worrying – so I think what you said is great: staying calm and if it gets worse call the doctor…I’ve learned to not care what they think about worrying patients -cause I need to be totally comfortable with what’s going on with me – and so do you.

    Also – WOW- what vivid dreams you’ve been having…and both times you had a girl…very interesting 🙂

    Reply

  4. katery
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 00:15:43

    i totally had sore stomach muscles right around this time too, sort of like i had done too many situps or something and being pregnant can totally back you up, try some colace or miralax (or both), that should take care of the problem.

    Reply

  5. lillyshephard
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 02:29:17

    somehow it’s been a few weeks since i’ve read your blog………..and holy cow!! A LOT has happened in those few weeks! CONGRATULATIONS!!!! i hope you are able to relax more and more with time. i know this is a difficult week as you approach the timing around when you lost your baby Declan (i am preg again after three early m/c’s, so i know this anxiety well), but hopefully over time you’ll be able to enjoy the miracle growing in your tummy. i’m so happy foryou and your huge christmas surprise!

    Reply

  6. InfertileNaomi
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 14:36:52

    Read your tweets and so sorry to hear.

    Reply

  7. katery
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 20:58:33

    😦 i’m so sorry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

