7w and questions…

Hello again!  Thank you so much to everyone for all of your love and support!  We’re still in the very early, very nervous stages of this pregnancy, but I’m trying to take it a day at a time.  My ticker on the side seems to be off a bit, but I’m about 7 weeks along today!  For the next week I’m going to have to keep myself busy and distracted.  This is about the time I lost our first baby, Declan.  Somewhere between 7 and 8 weeks.  I don’t go back to my doctor until about 11 weeks, so all I can do is hope that I get to that next appointment.  To borrow a phrase from K over at Waiting for Sunflower, “So far, so good.”

So of course, going into my first appointment I wrote down all of my questions in a little notebook that I always carry with me.  I always have it on me – except apparently when I go in for my first appointment with my doctor!  Bugger.  So, I tried to ask her all I could remember, but I missed most of the important ones!  I’ve spent the last 3 years focusing on GETTING pregnant that I really don’t know much at all about BEING pregnant, and staying that way!  I need some help.  I’m hoping there are some of you TTC ladies that have looked ahead to the pregnancy stage and no what to do, or that there are some of you that have made it out of IF land and can offer me your advice/experience.  I also know I have some good friends who read this who have been pregnant and may be able to help, too.  So, I give you the nervous IF pregnant ladies questions so far:

1) Exercise!  I know that this is good, and before the Xmas season and the BFP I was going in to a gym 3 times per week.  I kinda took December off since we were traveling so much.  Now I find myself in January with a little friend on board, and I’m scared to go back.  I know pregnant women can exercise, but I wonder how much?  Should I cut back the intensity?  Should I wait a few more weeks?  What do you all think?

2) BD-ing.  Yes, I’m nervous about this and my poor DH suffers for it.  When we went in to the ER when we lost Declan the OBGYN that examined me asked a bunch of questions and one of the first was “when was the last time you had sex?”  This of course has scared me into thinking maybe we did something wrong going ahead after the RE told us it was okay.  Now I find myself in this place again, and again nervous we could do something wrong.  I’m sorry, this is way TMI for my friends and family that read this, but I’m pretty nervous and I want to make sure everything is okay before we go ahead.

3) Pre-natals, my nemesis.  I’ve been taking the damn pills for 3 years now.  I’ve been taking some over the counter stuff, but now my doc has prescribed me some.  This was after I asked because I know a lot of my friends who have had babies took prescription pre-natals.  My doc said it doesn’t matter if it’s prescription or over the counter, as long as you are taking them.  She did however give me a bunch of samples and told me to “choose the one I like most.”  How am I supposed to choose?  By taste?  You just swallow the things!  So, I turned to my trusty friend, WebMD.  Here is what they have to say:

  • 400 mcg of folic acid
  • 400 IU of vitamin D
  • 200 to 300 mg of calcium
  • 70 mg of vitamin C
  • 3 mg of thiamine
  • 2 mg of riboflavin
  • 20 mg of niacine
  • 6 mcg of vitamin B12
  • 10 mg of vitamin E
  • 15 mg of zinc
  • 17 mg of iron

This is the list I followed when I chose my over the counter stuff (which by the way is the generic Target brand, exactly the same as the Stuart Pre-Natals if your familiar with that brand.)  I’ve been looking at the ingredients listed on the prescription ones my doc gave me, but none of them have all of these things or the right amounts suggested.  Also, my friend SusQ said her doctor suggested taking a vitamin with DHA in it, which 2 of them do, but they are missing so much of the rest of the list, I think I’d rather stick with my Target brand!  Some of them don’t even have Calcium or Vitamin C in them!  Or, way lower doses than listed above.  None of them have thiamine, riboflavin or niacine.  So, how important is the list above?  Do I need to make sure to get EVERYTHING on that list, or just most of them?  I’m perfectly fine just continuing to take the Target brand, but I’d appreciate some input if y’all have any!

4)  Diet – what am I supposed to eat or not eat?  I know that: hot dogs, lunch meat, caffeine,  alcohol and soft cheeses are out.  Anything else vitally important?  Anything that is really good to eat?  I was hoping for some sort of list from my doc, but I forgot to ask.  Again, help would be appreciated.  Or even a good website you know of that could help??

Okay, I think that’s all for now.  Back to my paranoia!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MeAndBaby
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 17:39:06

    Hi, here from LFCA and wanted to say congratulations!! For my last pregnancy, my doc gave me samples of Expecta for a DHA supplement. They sell them at Target and probably every other place like that. I take the Target brand prenatals too so I was happy to see they made the top of your research list! As for foods, one thing I remember is only one can of tunafish per week.

    Reply

  2. Lea
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 18:07:21

    Hey, CONGRATULATIONS! Sorry I missed your announcement post…not sure how! Anyway, wishing you tons of luck. I can’t believe you don’t get another u/s until 11 weeks. I’d lose my mind! I don’t have any advice on the pregnancy dos & don’ts, but just wanted to say – YAY!

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Jan 11, 2010 @ 18:27:47

      I know…I think I will go nuts, but not too much I can do about it. This wasn’t though fertility treatments, so I think I’m lucky I’ve had even one ultrasound! Some people have to wait much longer.

      Reply

  3. K
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 18:57:31

    YAY so happy for you once again.

    As for questions,

    1) BD: We didn’t do it all the first trimester and in the second trimester juts twice and we both agreed no more until the baby gets here. It’s too intimidating. A week after we did this I got BV which I read can happen with BD because it introduces new things into the area and the PH is low to fight it. My doctors insist that I can and have not prohibited and I hear its safe and sound to do, but I personally am not. This is frustrating but I’m just too crazy paranoid and so is Jack.

    2) My doctor told me to be easy on exercise bcause when I do I spot so I don’t do it but I read that as long as you don’t work out to the point that you’re out of breath you’re okay.

    3) My MFM doctor poo-pooed on DHA saying its effects are not confirmed and its just a marketing ploy. Id id buy some Nordic Cod Liver Oil and will see what my doctor thinks about it. I figure it can’t hurt even if it may not help.

    4) I would consider asking the doctor if it would hurt to have a baby aspirin during pregnancy? Baby aspirin doesn’t have any harmful side effects for babies and it can help stave off God Forbid scary things in the second trimester such as Preeclampisa, not that it alone would stave it off, but i’ve read it goes a long way.

    I am well into my second trimester and STILL I say “so far so good” I’ve noticed that despite my joy at being pregnant I am scared to death to this day. I’m so happy for you though and I hope you area ble to find small pieces of joy admist the nervousness we undoubtably feel.

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Jan 11, 2010 @ 19:56:27

      K…thanks for all of your advice! I did mean to ask the doc about baby aspirin, it was in my little notebook I forgot to bring in! I’ll have to ask at the next appointment.

      On BDing, I agree with you, but I feel so bad for my dear hubby…guess I’ll have to have a conversation with him…

      Still deciding on the exercise…I know I should, but it freaks me out. It just sucks because I’m in a contract at this place for a whole year, and I hate to let all that $ go to waste…

      Reply

  4. Linsey
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 22:39:20

    My dr. told me soft serve ice cream, sushi and oysters/clams/scallops were also on the no-no list. It was tough. I craved soft serve. Soft serve, because the machines can have the same bacteria as lunchmeat. You can microwave lunch meat for 30 seconds to kill the bugs unfortunatly you can’t microwave ice cream… Congratulations!!!

    Reply

  5. katery
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 23:42:52

    low impact exercise, i think you can bd as much as you want, that seems to be what all the doctors say anyways, there’s a lot of fish you should stay away from, some is ok though, your doctor probably has a list, try the pre-natals one by one, sometimes certain ones can make people feel sick so that might be why your doctor gave you more than one choice, also your insurance might cover the prescription ones so it might be cheaper than over the counter and you can eat soft cheese as long as it’s pasteurized, just look on the label… did i get em all?

    Reply

  6. 21reena
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 01:13:40

    I have no idea about the DOs and DON’Ts about being preggo…I’m just so glad that you are PG!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

