sometimes the impossible happens…

So, some of you have been wondering what’s going on with my cycle.  I posted on 14dpo and that was kind of it on that.  Well, I wanted to confirm with the doctor first……………………..

I’m pregnant.

Yup – you read that right folks!  My first cycle of no RE, no IUI, only Metformin and I’m 6w3d!!!!  I can’t believe it!  I really, really did not think it would happen on this cycle, I mean the timing seemed so off!  We did the BD 2 days before ovulation, plus it was my first on the Met.  I figured it was a practice run.  Guess not!

You can imagine my surprise when I POAS and there was a faint 2nd line.  I showed my husband and I said, “I don’t know what this means.”  I was using one of those internet cheapy ones, so before work I stopped at the store and got the digital one, you know that says “pregnant” or “not pregnant”.  I was supposed to wait 3 min for results, but it popped up in like 30 seconds!  Again, shock – awe – wonder – excitement – fear.  Called the DH, told him the news, then tried to call my doctor…I couldn’t get through!  I left 2 messages, kept trying.  Then I decided to call my RE and see if they could get me in for a blood test.  I tried calling ALL DAY and the damn machine kept cutting me off!  Now, this was on Dec 23rd, so I thought maybe everyone was closed?  Which REALLY freaked me out, because then I figured I’d have to wait until I got back from vacation on December 29th!  Yuck, did NOT want to wait that long!  Tried calling my best friend – not home.  Remembered she was on vacation.  Called her cell, didn’t answer.  Went on Facebook and email leaving her messages to CALL ME.  She finally did.  I was so scared, I wanted this to be true but I couldn’t believe it.  Talked with her for a bit.

FINALLY my doctor called me back.  At first they wanted to schedule me on Jan 22nd.  I freaked out.  I told them I’d already lost one baby this year and was really hoping I could get in before that.  The earliest they had was Jan 7th, so I took it.

I’ve been twiddling my thumbs ever since then.  I took one more POAS (cheap internet ones) and the line got darker.  That made me feel better.

I’ve had no idea all this time how far along I was.  I ovulated late, so using the pregnancy fuzzy math wasn’t going to work.  I could have been anywhere from 4-6 wks!  When I went in today, I thought maybe 7wks.  I was pretty close – 6w3d.  My due date is August 30th, which is 6 days after my 30th birthday!  What a great birthday gift 🙂

I’m still in a little bit of shock, and I can’t believe we’re here again.  I don’t go back in to the doctor for 4 more weeks, that’ll put me around 10 weeks.  But that’s an awful long time for me.  I hope I don’t go nuts before then!

I’m so nervous and so happy at the same time.  Just a few months ago I was convinced I would never be pregnant again, and now here I am – 6w3d.  It’s a miracle.

So there it is folks.  Now, we’re ABSOLUTELY NOT TELLING ANYONE about this until at least after my 10wk appointment.  I need to have that 2nd confirmation, maybe even more.  However, you all are the exception to this rule.  You’re my support system, so I had to tell you!  We’ve also called our parents, as they do sometimes read the blog and that would have been an awful way for them to find out.  So that’s it folks, mums the word!!

I do have some IRL (in real life) friends who also read this blog (you know who you are!).  I’m asking you – please DO NOT SAY ANYTHING TO ANYONE!!!  We’re not at a place yet to be able to tell people, so we’re asking you to not tell anyone until we are ready.  If you do know me, and you do read this, please leave me a message so I know you know.  We would very much appreciate that 🙂

And to everyone – thoughts, prayers, guidance, support, suggestions, advice, etc…are asked for, welcomed and needed!  I’m so grateful to have found this great community on the internet, through blogs and my TTC Twitter girls!  I love you all and value your support.

Sometimes the impossible happens…

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. liberalgranolagirl
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 00:35:56

    I am sooooooo happy for y’all 🙂 🙂 🙂 Happy tears in my eyes ❤

    Reply

  2. DH
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 00:36:14

    Just so you know, I know!

    Reply

  3. K
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 01:16:28

    I remember reading your blog early last year and you were one of the first bloggers I began reading and connected with because we had both endured loss around the same time and dealt with the same experiences. It’s so amazing to see this happen for you having been able to journey with you this long. I am so happy for you and I hope you can enjoy each day. I know the ten week wait will be very scary, can you ask them to check your HCG’s if that will help? You are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Jan 08, 2010 @ 15:43:14

      You’ve been one of my greatest “internet friends” since we found each others blogs. I’m so happy for you and your sunflower, and I’m excited to be sharing in the joy with you with my own little wiggle (that’s what we’re calling the baby right now). They did draw some blood yesterday, so I hope they call me with the HCG…

      Reply

  4. Jen@After the alter
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 02:06:11

    such wonderful news!!! Congratulations!! i can imagine how scared you are. I know I will be when/if I get pregnant again. Have a miscarriage takes away some of the innitial excitment. But try to enjoy it! You deserve it!

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Jan 08, 2010 @ 15:44:06

      I’m trying to take everything a day at a time and just enjoying that, as of right now, I have a happy little baby in my tummy, with a strong 160 bpm heartbeat! That’s all I can know for now, and that is good 🙂

      Reply

  5. 21reena
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 02:15:40

    OMG- WHAT A MIRACLE!!! I am so happy for you – yay Metformin!!!!

    Reply

  6. Sarah O
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 02:58:27

    Yay! Don’t know if you know I read your blog but now you know I know. Congratulations to you and your husband. Praying for the best!

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Jan 08, 2010 @ 15:45:24

      I’m glad you’re “de-lurking”! I didn’t know that you read, but I’m glad you do. Thank you for the well wishes, and hopefully at some point in the future, I’ll be able to tell everyone and they you can mock you’re brother than you knew before he did! 😀

      Reply

      • Sarah O
        Jan 08, 2010 @ 18:43:40

        Thought I would “de-lurk” before I had to sign up on the blog lurker offender registry!

  7. Linsey
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 03:17:43

    Hooray!!! Many, many congratulations! I wish you a happy, healthy 34-ish weeks. I don’t remember how I stumbled upon your blog, but I’ve been reading it for two months and am so thrilled for you!!!

    Reply

  8. Corinna
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 05:24:37

    Wahooo!!! What wonderful news! Susq’s a friend of mine, and she and I talked about you ovulating when we last saw each other, and we thought THAT was awesome! (Sorry, that’s probably weird to know she and a total stranger were discussing your fertility…). This definitely has me smiling. Congratulations!!!

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Jan 08, 2010 @ 15:48:06

      I’ve really appreciated all of the support that you and your husband have given us through all of this. I don’t mind you talking with SusQ about my ovulation, it’s exciting news in this crazy TTC world! Although, in the other world, yes, weird topic! 😀 Thank you so much for everything!

      Reply

  9. egghunt
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 05:55:56

    I started reading your blog right at the end of your last IUI failed and know how much that kicked you in the stomach and that you really had lost your hope of this ever happening to you. AND LOOK AT YOU NOW! It’s an absolute miracle, I’m so happy for you. Congratulations. Hope you can stay distracted for the next 4 weeks till your next scan!! Big hugs.

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Jan 08, 2010 @ 15:51:22

      I was definitely down and out after that last IUI. But then I met my savior, Metformin! I have the TTC blogging world to thank for that one! Thank you for your congrats and support. I check your blog daily and wish nothing for you but the best in your own journey!

      Reply

  10. Womb For Improvement
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 11:04:27

    Fan-bloody-tastic.

    And really heartening to know that it can happen even when IUI’s fail.

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Jan 08, 2010 @ 15:53:04

      Man don’t I know it! I’ve had 4 IUI’s, and 3 failed, the other ended in miscarriage. I really thought I was done, just back in October! Miracles do sometimes happen! I read your blog daily. Wishing on you your own miracle!

      Reply

  11. katery
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 13:34:28

    ohmygodohmygodohmygodohmygod!!!!!!!! congratulations!!!! i am so happy for you!!! best christmas present ever!!!!

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Jan 08, 2010 @ 15:54:12

      Thanks so much!!! I’m still a bit shocked by it all, really wasn’t expecting this to work so soon! I’m so happy though! It really was the best Christmas present…I didn’t even care if I opened anything Christmas morning!! 😀

      Reply

  12. Abbey
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 15:42:46

    I’m so happy for the two of you.

    Reply

  13. 2 of a Kind Working on a Full House
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 20:06:51

    Congrats on your miracle and wishes for a happy and healthy 9 months~

    Reply

  14. Susie
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 20:11:56

    I’m supposed to say congrats from Erik too–he was really happy to hear the news! An important note until you’re officially out of the pregnancy closet: no more conversations about this infront of the kiddo. She informed us last night at dinner that JT has a baby in his tummy. I didn’t say anything, but she must have been listening to our conversation little stinker, ha ha!! Be sure and send our congrats to JT on the baby in his tummy, hee hee. Oh, and you can also inform him that Jannah joins him in having a baby in the tummy- according to her at least 🙂

    Reply

  15. claire
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 20:20:55

    I’m just so happy for you! Love these kinds of “taking a break — surprise!” stories!!

    Reply

  16. Devon
    Jan 10, 2010 @ 16:25:48

    Hey Meggo, I am SO excited for you. 🙂 I check in on occasion and wanted you to know that I knew! 🙂

    Reply

  17. Rebel
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 05:18:24

    Here from LFCA

    Congrats to you, and a happy and healthy 9 months!!

    Erica (Rebel)

    Reply

  18. Rach
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 12:07:54

    Congratulations, I hope you have a healthy 8 months or so.

    xxx

    Reply

  19. Eileen
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 13:23:30

    Congratulations. I LOVE seeing my fellow loss sisters getting their BFPs! So excited for you. what a great story! Here from LFCA.

    Reply

  20. eep6
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 16:30:28

    Congratulations! What wonderful news! LFCA

    Reply

  21. Sally
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 16:38:24

    Mum’s the word. I’m praying for you!!!

    Reply

  22. Trackback: 7w3d and some photo proof… « The Long And Winding Road…

Leave a Reply

