four and counting…

4 – that’s the number of pills I’ve taken so far today (and it’s only 11:30 am)!  My first pill this morning was the prenatal vitamin…I hate taking that one.  Not because it’s big…not because it tastes awful…not even because it’s pink.  What I hate about taking it is that I’ve been taking these damn pills for almost 3 years, and I think it’s just a big joke.  Prenatal – really?  I must have a VERY l0ng gestational period…like an elephant.  Yup, that’s me!  The human elephant.

Okay.  Pill #2 was Metformin.  Yup – today was the day I start week 2 of the Met and so I’ve jumped up to 2 a day.  I made sure to eat breakfast (which I normally don’t do) and took it with milk.  We’ll see if I have any side effects, which I’ve been avoiding the past week by taking it at night so I can sleep through it all.

Pills #3 and 4 were the same: Extra Strength Tylenol.  That’s right folks your friend and mine, Aunt Flo showed up for a visit today!  I’m not sure if it was the Met that made her come earlier than normal (CD-38 instead of say, CD-90), but I’m glad I didn’t have to go through 3 months wondering when I’d get to see if the Metformin would regulate my cycles!  So while I’m experiencing my vomit educing cramping, at least I can start tracking this cycle.  I’ve never really gotten into the BBT thing (as my cycles were so long and temps up and down everyday).  I’ve NEVER done an OPK…again, hard to know when to do the test in a 90 day cycle!  So, tomorrow I will officially start BBT-ing and see what happens!  You may see a new ticker, my CD ticker.  That’s mostly for MY benefit, as I’m not a number person.  It will help me remember where I’m at.

I’m nervous and excited.  I know this Metformin stuff can take a while to really regulate things for me, but as we all can be when it comes to infertility, we think it won’t apply to us!  The first time will be the charm!  I mean I *did* get pregnant on my very first ever IUI, very first ever treatment for infertility.  Of course after that it’s not been so “easy” for me.  But here I am, on a new course of treatment so of course I’m thinking it’s going to work for me easy!  I think I heard someone call this “infertility amnesia”.  I’ve got it bad!  I think that’s a good thing though.  It will help to keep me hopeful.  Until then, I’m going to try and keep my breakfast down.  Damn cramps.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lea
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 18:54:51

    I’m on cycle day one today too. Ugh.

    That’s so exciting that you are starting your 2nd week already. And it’s great that you’ve avoided any side effects so far. 🙂 You inspired me to make a plea to my gyno/OB this week and beg for Metformin. He agreed! I’m not sure when I’ll be getting the prescription or dosage or anything yet, but hopefully soon.

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Nov 12, 2009 @ 19:34:56

      Yeah! That’s great news! It just seems so WEIRD to me that us IFers seem to know more about what meds and treatments we should do than some doctors do!

      Reply

  2. katery
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 00:48:52

    yea, congratulations! i hate prenatal vitamins too, i was on them for almost two frikking years before i got pregnant, the reason i hate them is that a. they are big and b. about 20 minutes after i take them if i burp it tastes like vitamin, so gross.

    Reply

  3. 21reena
    Nov 15, 2009 @ 21:14:10

    That’s great that AF came earlier this time!!!!
    I knwo what you mean about the pre-natal vitamins, I feel like it’s a joke too…hopefully not for long. Good luck with everything this cycle!!!

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Nov 16, 2009 @ 16:01:14

      thanks…I can’t help but hope that maybe the Metformin helped bring on the cycle in a somewhat timely manner! Maybe that means it’s working? I hope?

      Reply

  4. Kate
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 19:53:26

    Hang in there with the Metformin!! Even if it doesn’t make a big difference in fertility (it has for a lot of women but it didn’t for me), I still feel so much better than I did before. Just for the period regulation alone it made a big difference. With the PCOS I’d never have a period without progesterone. Thanks to Metformin, I’m down to like 35-40 day cycles. Still long, but you’re right–at least you can get back up on the proverbial horse more quickly. Good luck this month!

    Reply

  5. sally
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 15:28:45

    Just wanted to post my insights on avoiding the side effects of metformin,I’ve been on it for a year now and my side effects were to a minimal ,I learned from my sister in law through all her errors.Make sure the metformin you take is coated and take it during your meals not before or after ,and avoid dairy products when taking them.start your dosage low and build up from there ,I’m at 2000mg a day now,I started with 500mg ,but 250mg in the morning and the same in the evening,after about 3 weeks you try 1000mg,500mg int morning and 500mg in the evening and you build from there,this worked for me ,I hope I offered help to some of you out there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

