it has begun…

Yup, started my Metformin last night!  Yay me!  So, here’s the scoop:

I was given 500 mg Metformin and told to take it 3 times a day.  However, thanks to suggests from you all here on my blog (especially Maybe Baby?) and also from my IF sisters on Twitter I’ve decided to ease into it.  I’ll do 1 week with just one pill, then week 2 switch to 2 and week 3 be up to the full dose/day.  I’ve also restarted my pre-natal vitamins.  I know, I know…don’t even say it.  After the last BFN I pretty much went through my house and threw all of my IF supplies into a bag and shoved it in my closet (the needles, syringes, left over Endometrium, Pre-natals, etc…).  This morning I dug around looking for the bag and pulled the Pre-Natals out and took one this morning.  Yes folks, hope is again knocking on my door…and I REALLY want to answer.

I’ve also decided to hold off on the Clomid that I was prescribed.  I wasn’t expecting it in the first place, and I’ve always been a bit wary of Clomid, just from things I’ve read about it.  So the plan right now is taking the Metformin to regulate my cycles and also using OPK’s and BBT to make sure things are happening the way they “should” happen.  Once I’ve had a cycle or 2 (or 3) that seem “normal”, we will do one of two things.

1) Call the endocrinologist that was recommended to me (may do this earlier if it turns out insurance will cover it) and talk with her about the Met and possibly starting the Clomid.

2) Call my old fertility clinic and do one last try at IUI (which we are saved up for and can do whenever, but want to try this Met stuff for a while first)

So – there it is!  Hopefully something along the way will work for me and I’ll be pregnant BEFORE my next birthday (which is the big 3-0.  Yikes).  It’s just really nice at this point to have some freakin’ OPTIONS rather than sinking into a pool of despair.  Yay!

I’ve also been working out regularly.  I joined Curves and I got 3 times a week as they recommend.  I haven’t missed a week yet!  I’m feeling pretty good about that, and hoping also that now I’m on the Metformin it’ll help me loose weight, too.  The next hurdle is the diet.  I’ve never felt that I eat poorly, per se, but I don’t eat as well as I should.  And I love carbs.  I LOVE CARBS.  Give me a loaf of fresh bread anyday!!  Yum.  So, you can see we have a bit of a problem there, but one I’m willing to work on.  The DH and I were on the South Beach Diet for a while and it was working pretty good…I lost 10 pounds on that – before we crashed and failed!  So, I might try to somewhat go back to that, or really, just be more conscious about what I eat.

So far, no side effects to report on the Metformin, but I purposely started my doses at night, so I could sleep through whatever may happen on them…at least for the first week.  Really hoping I don’t get hit too hard with stuff.  Usually, if I do experience side effects from meds, it wears off eventually, so I’m hoping I keep up that tradition.  Okay…hope you are all well!!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 20:45:16

    Congrats! Sounds like you have a good plan.

    If you don’t react well to the met, ask them to givey ou controlled release. From what Iv’e read there is a HUGE difference on GI tolerance.

    Reply

  2. Lea
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 21:34:47

    Sounds like a great plan! Good luck with the met. I’m anxious to hear how it goes!!

    Reply

  3. birdsandsquirrels
    Nov 07, 2009 @ 01:03:32

    I’m so glad your doctor gave you the metformin, and that you didn’t have to fight or push for it! I second what everyone else has said – ease into the metformin. I also highly recommend the extended release version. It releases the medicine slowly so that you have less side effects.

    Regular metformin (not extended release) can cause some very unpleasant side effects (diarrhea namely), although not everyone has problems with it. When I first started taking it, I had issues for a week or too, but since then have been totally fine. Tapering up the dose slowly does help. Also, what you eat will have a major effect (either good or bad). It’s kind of a good thing, because it somewhat forces you to eat healthfully, and if you don’t, you pay for it in the bathroom! While you are getting started with met, avoid high carb foods and fried foods especially. I know it’s hard – I am right there with you on the bread thing. Bread is my favorite thing in the world!

    I highly recommend a book called “The Insulin Resistance Diet” to learn how best to work on the PCOS through diet. If a PCOSer takes met but eats a crappy diet, it’s not going to help them at all. If you can do a little work to balance protein and carbs, it can work together with met to really help you lose weight. And it’s not that terrible of an eating system. It’s quite reasonable, and not impossible to stick to (like South Beach).

    As far as the clomid, I’m torn about the monitoring. Sure, it would be ideal to have a couple of ultrasounds midcycle, but in all likelihood, you won’t produce more than 2 follicles. Clomid results in twins about 5-10% of the time. If you truly are out of resources (financial, in terms of monitoring), you could do a couple of DIY cycles with clomid. The thing I would be wary about is wasting time.

    We did 6 cycles of clomid with my ob/gyn. 4 of them were unmonitored, two were. The time wasting thing came because my ob/gyn didn’t bother checking my husband for issues, and it turned out we should have been doing IUI the whole time because of low morphology. It does tend to mess with your uterine lining, and that gets worse with each subsequent cycle you do of clomid. You may want to ask about trying Femara if that becomes an issue.

    You could certianly do clomid + IUI with your RE, which would be much cheaper than injectables and IUI. Towards the end of the 7 total clomid cycles we did, it wreaked havoc with my lining, and the side effects sucked. Femara may be more expensive than clomid, but you can get a 30 pill supply for free with a voucher, if you can get your doctor to prescribe you a 30 day supply. You can google “fem.ara vou.cher” to find it. That is at least 3 cycles worth for free.

    Good luck!

    Reply

  4. egghunt
    Nov 07, 2009 @ 02:17:01

    so pleased that you’ve got some hope again! Your plan sounds great, hope the Met does the trick!

    Reply

  5. 21reena
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 16:19:50

    So happy to hear the HOPE!!! I hope the Met helps…and i’m with you on the carbs thing…i’m eating a muffin now-i should stop. maybe we can check in with each other on how we’re doing with the diet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

