um…okay…

So just got back from my gynecologist to discuss taking Metformin (or as DH calls it “metrosexual”) for my PCOS.  shockConversation went like this:

DrT: How are you?

Me: Good.  You?

DrT: Good.  So what can I do for you?

Me: Well, I’ve been going to FCI and they’ve diagnosed me with PCOS for the past 2 years.  I’ve read and heard from people that Metformin is commonly prescribed for PCOS so I wanted to talk to you about possibly going on that.

DrT: Sure, I can do that for you.

Yup…it was that painless!  Actually, she was pretty surprised and shocked that my fertility clinic never prescribed Metformin to me after the PCOS diagnosis.  Needless to say, I have been shocked and surprised by that as well!  She also decided since I was over due for my pap and check up to do that today too.  Usually I have some time to mentally prepare for that, but all went fine.

Okay, but here’s the kicker – she gave me Clomid too!!  What the…what do I do with that??  I’ve read putting Met and Clo together often work better than either one on their own, but I don’t really know what to do with Clomid.  We skipped that step with the RE because we only had so much money to work with and we wanted to jump straight to IUI since it had a better chance of working (which turned out to be true on the 1st try, it just didn’t last).

So…Clomid vets, HELP!!!  All I know is that I’m supposed to take it on days 2-5 of my cycle.  She told me to start the Metformin right away.  I’m not going to have any monitoring for this, as her clinic is not set up for that.  She did give me a referral to an endocrinologist, but I’m pretty sure insurance wouldn’t cover that, so I can’t really go.  I’m going to turn to good ‘ole Dr. Google and WebMD, but any insight and help I could get from all of you would be great too.

Can I just take the drugs and then BBT and use OPK’s and go from that?  Should I do anything else?  I’m already working out 3x’s a week.  I really need to start eating better, so that’s on the schedule too, but anything else?  Pre-Seed lubricant?  I’ve heard that supposed to help…I know with Clomid it can dry up your cervical mucus, so I should probably use something to help.  According to DH, we’ll just have to, as he so elegantly put it “boink” every night (yeah, he’s at the bar with some friends right now…).

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 22:10:53

    Glad to hear it was easy but surprised that they just gave you clomid. My doctor was going to monitor me if I was on Clomid. I never ended up using it, but I would advise that you not use Clomid for at least a month or two (Do your own research though).

    Okay let me start first thigns first.

    1) what type of Met did they give you? Controlled Release that you take once a day?
    2) Did she put you on a tapering on schedule? For me, the way I grew adjusted to it was, one week take one pill a day. Second week two pills a day, then third week, full dosage. The meds are very strong and can upset your GI system. Once you’re on the full dose it takes at least a month or up to six to regulate your periods with Metformin.

    for this reason I caution you to do some research before starting Clomid right away. It still costs money and it still affects your system so you may want to wait until you’re sure that your cycles are regulated.

    I planned to use pre-seed with Clomid because I read that it dries up your EWCM and makes the vaginal area acidic.

    Hope some of this was helpful!

    Reply

    • meggomae
      Nov 06, 2009 @ 03:41:26

      I’ve definitely decided to not take the Clomid for a while. I have it so if we decide to do it we can, but I’m going to hold off, at least until my cycle regulate (hopefully) with the Met.

      My Metformin dose is a 3 a day pill…500 mg. I think I’ll take your advise on that too and ease into it, just so it doesn’t shock my system!

      Reply

  2. Katie
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 22:12:21

    Although Clomid will force you to ovulate most likely, so then maybe you could just do it without waiting for your cycles to regulate, but in that instance, Met wouldn’t be really doing much in this particular cycle.

    Reply

  3. Lea
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 23:21:27

    Wow! Well, I would be careful taking the Clomid without monitoring. Especially since you’ve never taken it before and don’t know how you will respond. What dosage did they give you?

    I took the Clomid on cycle days 5-9 and it didn’t do anything to help me. I tried up to 150mg and still nothing. I switched to Femara and took that cycle days 3-7 and it works great. I take it now without monitoring, but only because we’ve learned what my body will do.

    If it were me, I’d probably try the met for a while first and see how that goes. Your body might go into shock with all the new drugs! But whatever you decide, I wish you tons of LUCK!!!

    Reply

  4. 21reena
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 03:26:43

    Definitely ease onto the metformin, or you will be sick! about the clomid, I’m surprised they’re not monitoring you – as it’s suppossed to help you ovulate if you never did before, so that plus the new metformin…i don’t know, you just wanna make sure you only have 1 egg (or 2 tops) growing.
    Clomid does “dry you up” – it also gave me CRAZY hotflashes. Unfortunately I never ovulated. Now I’m on Femara and Metformin (and get weekly ultrasounds) and I do ovulate – now we have to work on DHs low sperm #s.

    GOOD LUCK!!!!

    Reply

  5. meggomae
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 03:43:06

    Thank you all so much for your help and advice! My doctor does want me to be monitored, but I need to go to an endocrinologist for that. She referred me to one, but I’ll have to see if insurance will cover it before I can go. I’m hoping they will, since it’ll be technically for the PCOS treatment, and not for infertility treatment.

    Reply

  6. Corinna
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 04:23:23

    Wooohoooo! That’s great news! I agree that you probably don’t want to be on Clomid unless you’re monitored. I only took it once, but definitely noticed some of the “I feel like I’m pregnant/menopausal” side effects – not so fun but do-able. My OB had prescribed it once, then referred me to my RE who prescribed Femara. That’s a little easier to tolerate. However, Clomid was far cheaper for me ($21 vs. $131). Hooray for a fresh start!

    Reply

  7. katery
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 16:19:13

    well, i know you decided not to do the clomid yet, but it’s pretty standard practice for ob’s to put patients on clomid without monitoring, many of them do it before they refer you to an re. my ob had me on clomid for three months without monitoring, it wasn’t until i started seeing an re that i was monitored.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

