politics…

Back in June RESOLVE had their Advocacy Day.  I did what I could to participate here in Chicago.  I blogged about it, I used Twitter and Facebook to bring awareness, and I also wrote to my Congressmen and Representatives.  Mostly I just got automated responses back from them, but at least I felt like I’d done something.

Well, to my surprise, I opened up my email today and had a response from Sen. Dick Durbin!  Here’s what he said:

September 24, 2009

Dear Ms. Thornburgh:

Thank you for contacting me regarding insurance coverage of infertility treatment. I appreciate hearing from you.

Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) introduced the Family Building Act of 2009. This bill would require a group health plan that provides coverage for obstetrical services to include coverage for non-experimental treatment of infertility. This bill also would provide coverage through the Federal Employees Health Benefit program as well as the Department of Defense.

The Family Building Act was referred to the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) Committee. I will be sure to keep your concerns in mind in case this legislation comes to the Senate floor for a vote.

Thank you again for contacting me. Please feel free to keep in touch.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Durbin

United States Senator

Yay!  Not only did he respond, but he let me know about what is happening in Washington that could help us all!  I urge you all to email/call/write your Congresspersons to tell them what you think about this possible legislation!  Hopefully someday soon none of us will have to battle insurance companies and our own pocketbooks to have the families we are dreaming of.

  • Contact your Representative and ask them to co-sponsor HR 697, the Family Building Act of 2009.
  • Contact your Senators and ask them to co-sponsor S 1258, the Family Building Act of 2009.

Information on the HR 697 Family Building Act of 2009 found from this site:

Family Building Act of 2009 – Amends the Public Health Service Act and the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA) to require a group health plan that provides coverage for obstetrical services to include coverage for non-experimental treatment of infertility that is deemed appropriate by a participant or beneficiary and the treating physician. Requires coverage for assisted reproductive technology only if certain conditions are met. Prohibits a group health plan from taking specified actions to avoid the requirements of this Act. Applies such requirements to health insurance coverage offered in the individual market and coverage offered through Federal Employees Health Benefit (FEHB) plans.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Sep 24, 2009 @ 21:54:49

    Awesome!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

