counting down…

Hey…thought I’d do a quick check in.  I know I haven’t posted in a while.  I’m still counting down to 36 days before I can call my nurse and get some drugs to start AF and hopefully the damn cyst will be gone and we can do another try with IUI.  September 9th – that’s when my 36 days will be up.  I guess it’s not that far away, but it does feel like forever, because then I have to wait for AF, then all the shots and procedures begin, and it probably won’t work anyway, because that’s just my life now.

I’ve had a good week though.  My niece is in town visiting with us.  She leaves tomorrow.  We’ve had a great time doing the touristy things in Chicago this week though.  I’ll be sad when she is gone.  Up until I graduated college, I saw her at least once a week for her entire life.  It was quite the adjustment to go from that to not seeing her for 6 months…or longer sometimes!  She’s 16 now, I can hardly believe it.  We bring her to Chicago for a week every summer to hang out and see the sights.  My husband is taking her on the architectural boat tour today, and tomorrow he meets her dad in Madison for her to go back home.   She starts her JUNIOR YEAR of high school on Thursday!  Way too early to start school if you ask me!

On Friday the hubby and I head up to stay with my parents for a few days.  My b-day is on the 24th and we got tickets to see the MN Twins play that day!  I’m very excited, and we’re meeting up with about 10 of my friends to watch the game with.  I’m so happy to be seeing them.  It’s been too long.  There will also be a party with my family on Sunday which will be great as well 🙂

I’m not really looking forward to this birthday, which is saying something.  I’ve always loved my birthday’s and have big celebrations with my friends.  Heck, one year in grad school we spent the whole month of August celebrating!  But this year I turn 29.  Not only does that make me feel incredibly too old, but my life plans for this age are no where near reached.  In college, my dreams were to meet the perfect guy, get married after graduation and start having kids by 25.  Well, I didn’t meet the perfect guy until after college, so I was 25 before I got married.  We waited 2 years to start trying for a baby, because we wanted to enjoy married life together.  Looking back on that I almost have to laugh now.  We’ve now been trying for 2 years.  If we’d started right away, would we have a child by now?  I don’t know.  I’m not really wanting to celebrate my birthday, outside of what is planned with the family and going to the Twins game.  I don’t know – guess I’m just not in the celebrating mood after everything that has happened this year.  It just doesn’t feel right.

Also, please keep a good friend of mine in your thoughts in prayers, as she is going through a very difficult time right now.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 01:08:55

    I turn 30 in two weeks. I hope when you hit 30 you’ll be in a different place in your life. I know its tough. I wish it wasn’t so hard for us. 9/9/09 is the last day of my job and the day you start your new cycle. I hope the new beginnings are great for us both.

    Reply

  2. meggomae
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 14:32:54

    that looks like a good day for things to start going right…3 nines in a row can’t be a bad sign!! *fingers crossed for both of us*

    Reply

  3. katery
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 01:05:23

    well, you’re doing a lot better than i was at 29 that’s for sure! when i was 29 i was still living the single life with no real career path, i don’t get married until i was 30! i know that probably doesn’t make you feel any better though. it’s hard being stuck in this infertility holding pattern, i hope your next iui is successful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

