dare to believe…

Monday is the day of the blood test to see if the IUI worked.  I’m nervous.  I’m expecting a negative outcome, as I haven’t experienced any of the symptoms that I did last time when it had worked.  However, it’s a crazy tight rope the IFers walk between hope and despair.  While I’m not expecting any good news on Monday, I do have some hope in me.

This hope comes from my dear friend Carly.  She is in Italy for a portion of this summer with a group from the college she works at.  One of her stops was in Assisi.  Justin and I asked her to perhaps say a prayer for us there.  We have adopted St. Francis of Assisi as our family patron saint.  We both love and respect what he did in life and what he stands for in death.  We have a beautiful icon of him that was painted by our friend Larry as a wedding gift (Justin gave it to me as a gift, he commissioned it from Larry.  I gave him a flask.  I think we get each other very well).  Well just yesterday we got a message from Carly, and I hope she won’t mind if I post it here:

“As requested, I carried your prayers with me to Assisi and had the most remarkable experience when I was there. I don’t know what it all means with regard to my prayers for you, but I wanted to share it with you anyway.

“In the chapel where they keep St. Francis’s remains, they have candles you can get with a donation and then leave at the altar. They ask you not to light them, but just to leave them as an offering. So, I got my candles, for you and for a few others, and carried them up to the altar. As I approached, the friar who had been sitting over at the benediction place made eye contact with me and jumped up as if he had been expecting me. It was so very strange. It was like he had been waiting for me. He came and took my candles from me, blew out the candles that were on the St. Francis altar (which were not burned down in the least) and replaced them with the candles I had brought. There were 50 people bringing candles to the altar and he used mine (yours) as the altar candles. I prayed for you as he lit yours, then spent some more time in prayer for you.

“I wanted to share this experience with you. I can not convey how intense it was in the moment, but I want you to know that your patron saint is looking out for you and your friend loves you very much. I am bringing home an olive wood rosary for you as well as some blessed prayer cards from inside the St. Francis chapel.

“My love and prayers are with you at this time, and always, Carly”

After I cleared the tears from my eyes, I responded with our thanks and love for her prayers and for all she gives us with her friendship.  Now, I don’t know if this is a sign that things will be all right now, or just that our future is blessed, no matter what the outcome.  Whatever it means, it has given me some hope and I will cling to it no matter what happens on Monday.

francis

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 20:13:04

    awww, how amazing. I hope and pray Monday goes well, BUT, even if God forbid, it does not, that doesn’t mean the prayer did not work, your time is coming, we just may not know from where we stand when that will be. *hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

