I think I can, I think I can…

The little follicles that could…

At my appointment on Friday my follicles were apparently growing quite well.  I started out the cycle with 40 of them, which they tell me is pretty high, and much more than I have ever had starting out, so that gave me hope for this cycle.  On Friday the count was 3 at size 8, 2 at 7, 1 at 6 and a bunch of smaller ones.  They told me to stay on a dose of 75 of the Bravelle through Sunday night and then my appointment today.  I was a bit nervous about that, because I knew last time we did this they upped the dosage in the middle to get the follicles really growing, so I didn’t know why they’d want to stay on the same dose now, but I figured they must know what they’re doing.

Well, today I went in and my follicles have not grown much if at all since my last appointment.  The nurse said I have a ton of new smaller one, but the larger ones have not grown.  Damn.  Up the dosage to 150 tonight and tomorrow, back on Wednesday.  I’m nervous.  We had one canceled cycle before the one that worked and this is how it went.  They stopped growing and we didn’t catch it in time and they had to cancel.  We found out in the car on the way home for Thanksgiving – not a good time to find out I can tell you that!  So I’m REALLY hoping that this up in dosage will work and I’ll go back Wednesday and they’ll tell me it’s time for the Ovadril and the IUI…so, think happy thoughts!

Oh, and of course then I get to work and flip my “Sticker a Day” calendar over to this week and guess what the theme is: yup, babies.  So I get to stare at bibs, duckies, diaper pins and bibs for the next 7 days while I’m hoping my body decides to cooperate at let me try to make another baby.  Damn you Sticker a Day – damn you!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. barrenness
    Jun 08, 2009 @ 21:23:41

    I’m completely with you on the frustrating follicle growth! It seems like they never up the dosage when they should. It’s so hard to trust the dr. when all you want is for something to work. Hope you get great results on Wednesday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

