Needles, needles everywhere…

Had appointment #1 for IUI cycle #2.  It was hard.  I did not want to be there – I should not have had to be there!  But I was there, and I had to deal.  I had a few moments where the tears threatened to fall, but I held them back.

So, had baseline ultrasound and blood work.  I hate the bloodwork.  I usually get the same lady, and most times she has to stick me twice to get it in correctly.  Luckily she got it the first time this time.  I know next time will be 2 though.  My right arm does not appreciate being repeatedly stuck with needles, so they usually have to draw from my left if I’ve had any blood work recently.

I spoke with one of my nurses after the appointment, as she had set aside some drugs for me (bless her heart).  We’re paying for all medicines and procedures out of pocket as my insurance does not cover infertility treatments (of course).  In the past we’ve used gonal f and follistim.  Both of these drugs as many of you may know are crazy expensive.  We’ve been lucky to get many samples from FCI for these drugs, but when we do purchase them, the gonal f is about $600-$700.  This time we were given bravelle – you need to mix the bravelle yourself, but it is MUCH cheaper, and they have a program called “Heart” that you can enroll in for $10 and then the drugs are $20 less per vial!  A box of bravelle if you’re in the program is $225!!!  Hurray!!!

brevelle

We also got a bag full of needles!

needles

Should I feel like a drug addict??  I think so 🙂

Tonight (Sunday) we begin with a dose of 150 (2 vials) and tomorrow as well, then 75 on Tuesday and Wednesday.  Thursday morning we have another appointment to see how things are coming along.

And of course we’ve gotten our ovadril to use, in case the cycle goes as planned and we are able to do the IUI:

DSC06293 (1)

So yeah, time to be stuck with a needle everyday now.  The joys of infertility!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. susq
    Jun 02, 2009 @ 19:16:16

    wow. that’s a lot of drugs and needles 🙂

    I hope it’s going okay and the cold hasn’t messed with things. Keep me updated, miss you!!!

    Reply

  2. barrenness
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 13:12:28

    Looks like we’re on the same cycle. AF arrived on Sat, and I started injections on Monday. I really hate that you’re having to go through another cycle, but I hope this one will result in a sticky bfp and you’ll be finished with meds. Good luck!

    Reply

  3. meggomae
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 19:51:08

    I hope it works out for both of us!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

