A bit of good news for a change…

No, the elusive AF has not yet come for a visit, but I had a phone conversation with my doctor this morning.

Background – the day I spent in the hospital with my miscarriage and D&C the doctor told me I should wait 3 cycles until trying again.  You can imagine with everything else that I was attempting to deal with that day (excruciating pain, heartbreak, loss, pain meds, etc…) hearing that felt awful.  As I’ve mentioned, my cycles are often time 3+ months long.  That would me 9 months before we could even try again.

When I went in for my check up 2 weeks after the miscarrage, my Gyno said we should probably wait 2 cycles, but that she would leave the decison up to my fertility doc, since he would know my body and situation better.  That felt a bit more managable, but still…6 months…

I called and talked to my nurse at the fertility center a couple of days after my check up to let her know that my gyno had said everything was good and I’d be coming back to them when they were ready.  She also told me a 2 cycle wait was the most likely option.  Yuck.  She said that my doctor wanted to talk with me though, and it could just be over the phone.

I don’t know why, but I waited a long time to call and schedule the phone appointment.  Maybe it was my lack of motivation getting me…maybe it was the fact I didn’t want to hear the 2 cycle wait again…maybe I just wasen’t ready to deal.  I don’t know.  Anyway, I finally called last week and scheduled the phone call.  So that was this morning before work.

First off, he wanted to discuss our options – IUI again or IVF.  The clinic I go to is known for their IVF and their success with it, so of course they are always pushing it.  I’d have no problem going that route, but my insurance covers 0% of fertility treatments, and so the cost of IVF is prohibitive for my husband and I.  We will likely never be able to go that route.  So, IUI it is.

Now for the good news – he asked the exact date of my D&C.  Then asked if I had gotten a period yet, which I said no to.  He said that since my cycles are usually 3 months, wait 2 more weeks and then call in to the office for a perscription of Provera (progesterone) to start my period, and then we can start with the IUI.

Wait…what???  I don’t have to wait anothe cycle?  No more endless anticipation, no more wondering???  We can start as soon as AF comes over for a stay right away???

YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can’t even express the relief I feel today!  I know I have a long journey ahead still, and no garauntee that just because it worked the first time with IUI that it’ll work right away again, but just the fact that I have a goal in sight makes the 2 week wait more bareable.  Before it was waiting with no idea how long the wait will be!  Now it’s 2 weeks until medication, and after that around 1-2 weeks before AF starts (I’ve done this before, and that’s about what it usually is).  This means I could possibly be starting the IUI process as early as the beginning of June!  That’s awesome.  Relief.  Whew!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dawn
    May 06, 2009 @ 13:51:23

    that is great news 🙂
    i think we’re going to start clomid in late june. i am so excited!

    Reply

  2. meggomae
    May 06, 2009 @ 14:17:01

    Yay for you Dawn! We skipped the clomid step and went straight to IUI. My insurance has zero coverage for infertility, so we wanted to do what we could afford that would have the maximum percentage of working. It’s nice to have a set plan in place, isn’t it?

    Reply

  3. And So it Goes (AshaAnn)
    May 08, 2009 @ 23:31:36

    I am so glad you have a next step in place. i too find knowing the game plan is SO good for my mind and spirit. I hear you on the cost of IVF. Gulp. Sending my good vibes that it all goes smoothly.

    Reply

  4. meggomae
    May 09, 2009 @ 01:27:39

    Thanks for the vibes, we all need all the good vibes we can get!

    Reply

  5. susq
    May 11, 2009 @ 20:09:59

    Meggon! I’m so happy to hear this. i feel like I haven’t chatted with you in forever–I’ll try to find you via facebook chat or call soon. Miss you a lot (I’m only 2 months away from being your neighbor!!)

    Reply

  6. Kate
    May 12, 2009 @ 02:06:35

    My doc said one cycle. From what I’ve read doctors ask for more than one cycle to avoid dealing with a very emotional paranoid mom-to-be. It’s for their sake more than yours. My spouse wanted to try righ taway.. I haven’t even had one cycle. We did try- but Im pretty sure I wasn’t ovulating when we did. In any case, I’m glad to hear that things worked out. *hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

