National Infertility Awareness Week…

I didn’t even know this existed, and now I find it’s this week!  Thanks to Tara for putting this on her site…that’s where I found it.  I’m new to this whole IF blogging thing…so thank you to all of those that I follow in guiding me along the way, even th0ugh you may not know that you are!

niaw

National Infertility Awareness Week is a movement to raise awareness about the disease of infertility which affects 7.3 million Americans.

So…RESOLVE.org is where I got the info about NIAW 2009.  “RESOLVE.org is a community for women and men with infertility and provides information, support and opportunities to take action.”  Like I said – I’m new to all this, so I can’t give you much more info.  I’ve just discovered the website and I’m really hoping it’s helpful.  Check it out.   Also, spread the word on NIAW.  I’ve just recently come to the realization that I need to let people know what I’ve been struggling with the past 2 years.  Up until my miscarriage, there were a very select few who knew 1) that we were even trying to have a baby and 2) that because of PCOS, it was not going well.  After I lost my child, I felt that one way of coping with the loss and infertility was to finally share with the world the struggle I’ve been living with.  It was hard.  I cried as I was sharing the news with those I love the most, let alone with complete strangers!  I still feel shame about my infertility, and it’s difficult to have this blog and put it all out there for the world to see, but I also know it’s something I need to do or I will go insane.  Please – if you you feel comfortable, pass on the news about this awareness week, and share something of your own struggle!

Also, from Stirrup Queens, I’ve discovered the pomegranate thread that those of us living with infertility are to wear to identify one another.  I’ve recently gotten the correct thread and tied it on my wrist.  Here is the write up direct from Stirrup Queens explaining all of this:

“For anyone who has ever had a miscarriage, struggled with pregnancy, and all things infertile…there is a movement upon us that you might want to join. It’s rather simple actually: a discreet ribbon on your right wrist to signal to others that they are not alone in their struggles.

“As someone who has had 5 m/c but am currently 5 months pregnant (YEAH), I wonder who looks at my big belly with sadness because they are in the month-to-month struggle. I mentioned to a friend that I wished there was some secret nod or international sign as if to say, this belly was hardwon. Well, she posted this quandary on her blog (http://www.stirrup-queens.blogspot.com/) and the response has been quite overwhelming…and a movement has been born!

“The pomegranate-colored thread holds a two-fold purpose: to identify and create community between those experiencing infertility as well as create a starting point for a conversation. Women pregnant through any means, natural or A.R.T., families created through adoption or surrogacy, or couples trying to conceive during infertility or secondary infertility can wear the thread, identifying themselves to others in this silent community. At the same time, the string serves as a gateway to conversations about infertility when people inquire about its purpose. These conversations are imperative if we are ever to remove the social stigma attached to infertility.Tie on the thread because you’re not alone. Wear to make aware. Join us in starting this conversation about infertility by purchasingthis pomegranate-coloured thread (#814 by DMC) at any craft, knitting, or variety store such as Walmart or Target. Tie it on your right wrist. Notice it on others. Just thought I would pass the word along!”

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. celticwander
    Apr 28, 2009 @ 20:58:57

    I love you!

    Reply

  2. meggomae
    Apr 28, 2009 @ 21:40:00

    Thanks honey! I love you very much, too 😀

    Reply

  3. Carly
    Apr 30, 2009 @ 01:16:11

    Thanks for this, Mae. I have never heard about this. I will have to track down pomegranate threads…maybe a burgundy will work for now as I doubt I’ll be able to get to a craft store before Saturday.
    Thanks again. I will spread the word with my friends.

    Reply

  4. meggomae
    Apr 30, 2009 @ 15:03:51

    Carly…I’ll try to bring up some of my thread for you on Sunday…we have tons now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

